How to Wipe a Mac Remotely: A Detailed Guide

Certain unfortunate circumstances can call for you to remotely wipe your Mac. Similar to when you remotely erase your iPhone, this deletes the data and files on your system without physically having the Mac with you. It comes in handy when your Mac gets stolen or lost. To prevent misuse of your data and protect your privacy, let’s learn how to wipe a Mac remotely.

Some Things to Keep in Mind:

Before you attempt to completely wipe your Mac remotely, here are some crucial things to keep in mind:

  • You can only wipe your MacBook if you had previously set up Find My Mac. 
  • You should routinely Backup your Mac so that you can recover your data if your device gets lost or stolen.
  • It’s also highly recommended that you set up File Vault on your Mac to protect your files from unauthorized access in case it gets lost.

What Happens When You Wipe Out a Mac? 

  • All data and files are deleted when the device connects to the internet for the first time after the erase command is given.
  • Activation Lock remains on to continue protecting your device. This feature is enabled when you set up Find My Mac.
  • Apple Pay gets disabled, and all your credit/debit card or ID card information is removed from your device.

Note: Instead of erasing your Mac, you can also lock it using Find My Mac to prevent someone from logging in. Or, if you feel that your device might be nearby, you can play a sound on it to alert you.

How to Wipe Your Mac Remotely with iCloud

  1. Open a browser such as Google Chrome or Safari and go to the iCloud website.
  2. Log into your account using the Apple ID and password.Sign in to iCloud.com on Mac
  3. Click on the Find iPhone icon. (You might be asked to enter your password again.)Click on Find iPhone in iCloud.comEnter Password and Click on Sign In
  4. Click on All Devices at the top of the screen.Click on All Devices in Find My iPhone in iCloud.com
  5. Select the Mac that you want to wipe.Select Mac in Find My iPhone in iCloud Website
  6. In the device’s Info window, click Erase Mac.Click on Erase Mac in iCloud WebsiteClick on Erase to Wipe Mac Remotely with iCloud
  7. Enter your Apple ID password to confirm.Enter Apple ID Password to Confirm and Remove Mac using iCloud

If you choose to erase your Mac, then all files and data will be deleted when your device is online again. You will receive a confirmation email on your Apple ID email address.

How to Cancel an Erase Request

If you choose to erase an offline device and find it before it connects to the internet again, you can cancel the erase request with the following steps:

  1. Go to the iCloud website again and log in using your Apple ID and password
  2. Click on All Devices at the top of the screen.Click on All Devices in Find My iPhone in iCloud.com
  3. In the Devices list, select the device that you had chosen to erase and then click on it.Click on Mac You Requested to Erase from iCloud
  4. Now, click on Stop Erase Request and confirm cancellation.Click on Stop Erase RequestClick on Stop Erase to Cancel an Mac Erase Request Using iCloud

Summing Up 

This process can help protect your privacy when your computer gets lost or stolen. But to make use of it, it’s essential to set up Find My Mac beforehand. So don’t wait until it’s too late. You should also set it up on your iOS devices.

You would like to read these posts as well:

The founder of iGeeksBlog, Dhvanesh, is an Apple aficionado, who cannot stand even a slight innuendo about Apple products. He dons the cap of editor-in-chief to make sure that articles match the quality standard before they are published.