The Apple devices come with unique features and users love playing with its functions. While for some, the device makes a perfect office manager through which, they can do their office tasks and business transactions, and for others iPhone is a brilliant camera. The iPhone camera has its own place in gadget lovers’ heart. But with many good features, some find it difficult to deal with some of the features that iPhone or the latest iOS 8 comes with.

One such unique feature is to recover deleted photos in iPhone. But then, the side effect is if you can easily get your deleted photos back, it means that the photos are not completely removed from your iPhone or iPad immediately! Imagine if you want to delete a photo immediately so that it is not traceable later. In this post, we shall make you learn a technique through which you can permanently delete photo or video from iOS instantly.

How to Permanently Delete Photos from iPhone or iPad

Photos are stored on your iPhone in three ways. Either you capture it using iPhone’s camera application or you use the Internet using ‘Safari’ app. In other way, you can have photos on your iPhone by synchronizing it through a computer.

Unlike iOS 7, the photos and videos on iOS8 do not get permanently deleted when you try to remove them from your photo apps. Instead, they are actually ‘marked’ for deletion the way you have it in your computer. You delete a file and it actually goes into Trash. This can be considered as a feature because things are marked for deletion but do not get deleted completely. You can recover those items through ‘Recently Deleted’ on your Apple device for 30 days of being marked. This feature is useful if you have accidentally deleted photos. But then what if you want to ‘actually’ delete them once and for all?

How to Permanently Delete Photos and Videos from iPhone or iPad Running iOS 8:

Step 1: Launch the Photos app from your device’s home screen.

Step 2: Tap on the Albums button. This is placed at the right bottom corner of the display.

Step 3: You will be now able to see the album labeled as “Recently Deleted”.

Step 4: Tap to open “Recently Deleted” folder
Recently Deleted Photos on iPhone or iPad
Step 5: The folder lists all the items that you recently deleted. These items are displayed with the number of days to delete them permanently. The action will happen automatically. By default, the numbers of days are ‘30’.

Step 6: Tap on Select button from top right corner.

Select Recently Deleted Photos on iPhone or iPadStep 7: Select the photo you want to delete permanently by tapping on it. You can select multiple photos by tapping on each specific photo. This will help you deleting photos instantly.

Step 8: Upon selecting, the button ‘Delete’ appears on the left bottom corner of your display
Permanently Delete Photos from iPhone or iPad
Step 9: Click on ‘Delete Photo’ and that’s it. The photo will be permanently deleted from your device and the action cannot be undone.

Permanentlh Delete Selected Photos from iPhone or iPad
You can remove the photos permanently if you do not want to have them anymore or some use these steps to save space on their devices. It is worth to mention that instantly removing photos is a very helpful trick if you are running low on iOS space. Why wait for 30 days to kick them out if you can do that it instantly?

  • Lesley

    Hi Dhvanesh, Thanks for this. I have done this after downloading all of my photos onto my computer. However, my settings tells me that there are still 839 photos on the iPad. When I go into photos and albums then ‘recently deleted’ it tells me that there are no photos there. I don’t have 839 photos in the albums either. I’ve tried just turning the iPad off and on again and it makes no difference. Do you have any ideas what is happening?

    • duh!! give another solution

      while the deletion of photos is completely easy, even a dog can figure it out, I highly doubt he can provide an answer for you. notice how he hasn’t provided you with an answer. this post is unnecessary since all the features you need to delete a picture is right there on the screen.