How to Use Find My App on iPhone and iPad: A Complete Guide

Find My app is an essential security feature on your iPhone or iPad. It helps you track down your lost or stolen device, remotely wipe the data, lock your phone, and more. Further, it can also help you find your friends and family. That’s why it’s essential to properly set up this functionality on your device. Keep reading to know everything about how to use Find My app on iPhone and iPad running iOS 14 or 13.

How to Turn ON Find My on iPhone and iPad

Before using the Find My app services, you need to turn this feature on from your iPhone settings. Here are the quick steps.

  1. Launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap on your name at the top of all settings.
  3. Select Find My.
  4. Tap Find My iPhone.Tap on Profile in iPhone Settings and Tap on Find My and Then Tap on Find My iPhone
  5. Turn on the toggle of Find My iPhone.
  6. Also, toggle on Enable Offline Finding and Send Last Location.Turn ON Find My on iPhone

Note: In iOS 14 Enable offline finding settings may vary named with Find My Network.

How to Use Find My App to Locate your Misplaced or Lost Device

Using the Find My app, you can locate your misplaced or lost device and erase it if needed. From getting map directions to marking it as lost, the app will let you configure your device accordingly. However, make sure the missing device has to Find My iPhone/iPad enabled from the iPhone settings. If so, let’s get started with finding the location of your device.

See It Your Lost device on a Map

To view your missing device on a map,

  1. Launch the Find My app
  2. Go to the Devices tab from the bottom.
  3. Choose the device to view its location on the map.
    Note: If you’re a part of a family sharing group, you can also view devices of that group.
  4. Select directions to open that location in the Maps app.Open Find My App Tap on Device in Devices Tab and Then Tap on Directions on iPhone

If you’ve turned on Offline Finding, you can locate your device even if it’s not connected to a Wi-Fi or cellular data network.

Play a Sound

  1. Launch the Find My app.
  2. Go to the Devices section.
  3. Choose your missing device then tap Play Sound.Play Sound in Find My App on iPhone

Ensure that if your device is offline, no sound will be played unless it’s connected to an internet network.

Mark Your Device as Lost Mode

  1. Open the Find My app and go to the Devices tab.
  2. Tap on your device that is missing.
  3. Scroll down and tap Mark As Lost. Then tap Activate.Enable Mark as Lost in Find My App on iPhone
  4. You’ll have to follow the onscreen steps. If you want to display your phone number on your device or you want to enter a custom message asking the finder of your lost device to contact you.

What Does It Mean to Activate Mark As Lost?

  • This remotely locks your lost iPhone or iPad with a Passcode, securing your device information.
  • Once it is activated, Apple Pay will be disabled automatically.
  • A confirmation mail will be sent to the email address linked with your Apple ID. Later, when you recover your device, you’ll have to enter your passcode to unlock it.

Erase Your Device Remotely

This is something you need to reconsider before going ahead as it cannot be undone. Make sure you’ve tried the above-mentioned steps to recover your device. Only then, proceed with the steps shared below.

  1. Launch the Find My app and go to the Devices tab.
  2. Select the device that you want to erase.Open Find My App and Tap on Device in Devices Tab on iPhone
  3. Scroll down and tap Erase This Device and then tap on Continue.Erase Your Device from Find My App on iPhone

Erasing your device makes sense when you want to remove your data so no one can access it. Once you erase, all your credit and debit cards for Apple Pay are removed from your device. Also, you can’t locate it using the Find My app anymore.

Note: If your lost device is covered with AppleCare+ Theft and Loss, consider filing a complaint instead of erasing it.

How to Locate Your Friends With Find My App

Apart from being a device locator, Find My app also acts as a location-sharing app on your iPhone and iPad. You will love exchanging locations with your friends and family using this app. Here’s how you do it.

  1. Open the Find My app.
  2. Go to the People tab.
  3. Select the friend who is sharing their location under the map.Open Find My App Tap on Friend's Name in People Tab on iPhone
  4. Swipe up on the popup, then tap Contact to view the contact information of that friend.Tap on Contact to View Contact Information on iPhone
  5. Hit Directions to get directions to their location.Get Direction to the Friend's Location in Find My App on iPhone
  6. Select Add (Friends Name) to Favorites.Tap on Friend's Name and Tap on Add to Favorites in Find My App on iPhone
  7. Now, tap Edit location name.
  8. Choose a label to add to the location (Home, Work, School, or Gym).Tap on Friend's Name and Edit Location Name in Find My App on iPhone
  9. Tap Add Custom Label to give a personalized label to that location.Add Custom Label in Find My App on iPhone

How to Add Friends in Find My App on iPhone and iPad

  1. Go to the People tab in Find My app.
  2. Tap Share My Location.
  3. Enter the name of the contact or add it from the list.
  4. Hit the + to add more people.
  5. Tap Send. 
  6. Choose the right time frame of location from Share for One Hour, Share Until End of Day, and Share Indefinitely.Share Location with Friends in Find My App on iPhone

How to Share your Location with Find My App

You can make your location profile public so anyone across the globe can locate you on this app. To do so,

  1. Open the Me tab in the Find My app.
  2. Turn on the toggle for Share My Location.Turn Off Share My Location in Find My App on iPhone

In the same way, you can stop sharing your location by turning off the toggle.

How to Stop Sharing Your Locations and Remove a Friend

  1. Go to the People tab in the Find My app.
  2. Tap on a friend that is sharing location.
  3. Swipe up on the popup and hit Stop Sharing My Location from the bottom.
  4. Select Stop Sharing Location to confirm.Stop Sharing Location with Friends in Find My on iPhone
  5. Now, remove select Remove (friend’s name).
  6. Hit Remove to confirm.Remove Friends in Find My App on iPhone

Signing Off

The Find My app has a series of handy features that can help you to find your device when it is missing, and do needful if it’s lost. Besides, the app can be used to add friends and exchange locations when you have the device. If it is lost or misplaced, we hope you recover it using the tips mentioned above. Always have the Find My iPhone/iPad function turned on from the Settings app on your device. Know how to locate lost Apple Watch using Find My iPhone.

You may also like to read these

I am an aspiring tech blogger who is always in love with new generation iPhones and iPads. At iGeeksBlog, I am dedicated to rendering the How-To's, Troubleshooting bugs, and reviewing apps that are a great deal of help. When I am not writing, I am daydreaming about the future of all things Apple and watching videos of smartphone battles on YouTube.

Suraj is a digital marketing expert on the iGB's team. He contributes to the social media section along with tips and tricks for iPhone, Apple Watch. Apart from blogging, he likes to work out as much as he can in his gym and love to listening to retro music.