How to Not Show Message Preview on iPhone Lockscreen

The text-message preview on the lock screen of your iPhone is a value-added feature of iOS. This feature lets you see who sent what without having to unlock the screen. While it’s a useful feature for some, for others it was a visible breach of privacy because not many like personal messages intended for them to spring up (and show up) right on the lock screen.

And that’s the reason why many users prefer to turn it off. If you are also one of them, here is how to turn off message preview on iPhone lock screen. Read on to know more…

How to Turn OFF Message Preview on iPhone Lock Screen

Step #1. Open Settings → Tap on Notification.

Tap on Settings then Notifications on iPhone or iPad

Step #2. Scroll down and Tap on Messages then tap on Show Previews.

Tap on Messages then Tap on Show Previews in iPhone Settings

Step #3. Select When Unlocked or Never.

Disable Message Previews on LockScreen iPhone or iPad

The text-message preview feature is one of the few features that actually turned out be used by very few people. Although introduced to be a very useful feature, the lock-screen preview showed a lot of the message which could be a problem for privacy.

We really expected a minor change in the way messages showed up on the lock screen. If only the name of the person who messages appeared (and not a part of the message along with), I guess many people would take that up.

That’s all, folks!

You may also like to explore:

Do share your feedback with us in the comment below. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Also, make sure to download our iOS app on your iPhone and iPad.