How to Turn off and Delete Google Maps Timeline on iPhone and Android

Did you recieve the Google Maps Timeline 2019 update and feel creepy about it? Me Too! So I have decided to turn off Google Maps timeline feature on my iPhone. If you would like to do the same, just follow the detailed guide below.

While a great feature from the app, it is alarmingly dangerous for our privacy and safety. Google is basically tracking your every move with your intentional or unintentional permission. Google Maps timeline history knows what you did last summer; check your timeline, if you don’t believe us. Eerie right? So, let’s get our location privacy back from Google.

How to Turn OFF and Delete Google Maps Timeline on iPhone and Android

Well, this is a problem. On the one hand, I don’t want Google to track me, and on the other, I like finding the places I have visited and the routes traveled. Is there some way to circumvent the issue?

Google is smart enough to understand you, which is why the app has multiple solutions. So, you can ask the app to not to store your location history at all or delete specific data manually or automatically. Let’s first start with the former option.

Quick Access:

Disable Location History in Google Maps on iPhone and Android

Step #1. Open Google Maps app on your device.

Open Google Maps on iPhone

Step #2. Tap on the hamburger icon (three horizontal lines) and select Settings from the menu.

Tap on Hamburger icon and Select Settings in Google Maps on iPhone

Step #3. Now, scroll down and select Personal Content (it is placed under Account Settings in devices running iOS 13).

Select Personal Content in Google Maps Settings on iPhone

Step #4. Select Location History settings and Tap on toggle next to Location History.

Tap on Toggle to Disable Location History in iOS Google Maps

Step #5. Select Pause to continue and then press Pause again to disable the Location History.

Tap on Pause to Disable Location History on iPhone

After this, Google Maps will not store your Location History. Let’s see how you can delete the history it already has in its database.

How to Delete Google Maps Timeline History on iPhone and Android

Deleting your Google Maps timeline history is a breeze. Moreover, thanks to a ton of options, you can choose to remove data for one day, a few days, or all of it.

Delete Location History for One Day on Google Maps

Step #1. Open the Google Maps app on your device.

Open Google Maps on iPhone

Step #2. Tap on the hamburger icon and select Your Timeline from the menu.

Tap on Hamburger icon and Select Your Timeline in Google Maps on iPhone

Step #3. Select the Calendar icon from the top bar and select the date.

Open Calendar and Select Date in Google Maps on iPhone

Step #4. Now, tap on the three dots and select Delete the day.

Tap on Three Dots and Select Delete the day in iOS Google Maps

Step#5. Press Delete again to confirm the action.

Delete Location History for One Day in Google Maps on iPhone

Remove Location History for Particular Days from Google Maps App

Step #1. Open Google Maps → Settings → Personal Content on your iOS or Android device.

Select Personal Content on Google Maps Settings on iPhone

Step #2. Tap on Delete Location History Range.

Select Delete Location History Range in Google Maps Settings on iPhone

Step #3. Here select the dates/range you want to delete the data from and tap on Delete.

Select Date to Tap on Delete in iOS Google Maps

Step #4. Check I understand and want to delete and press Delete again.

Delete Location History For Particular Days on iPhone

Delete All Location History in Google Maps on iPhone and Android

Step #1. Open Google Maps → SettingsPersonal Content on your iOS or Android device.

Select Personal Content on Google Maps Settings on iPhone

Step #2. Tap on Delete all Location History.

Tap Delete all Location History in Google Maps on iPhone

Step #3. Check I understand and want to delete and press Delete.

Delete All Google Maps Location History from your iPhone

Automatically Delete Location History in Google Maps on iPhone and Android

Step #1. Open Google Maps → Settings → Personal Content on your iOS or Android device.

Select Personal Content on Google Maps Settings on iPhone

Step #2. Tap on Automatically delete Location History.

Tap on Automatically delete Location History in Google Maps on iPhone

Step #3. You can either select Keep for 18 months or Keep for 3 months, as per your convenience and tap on Next.

Choose Prefered Option and Tap on Next on iPhone

Step #4. Here, check I understand and want to delete and press Confirm.

Check I understand and want to delete and Tap on Confirm on iPhone

Step #5. Press Done and exit the app.

Tap on Done to Automatically Delete Location History on iPhone

Don’t Allow Google Maps to Access your Location All the Time

There is another precautionary measure to secure your privacy, though that’s only applicable for iOS users. Thanks to Apple’s vigilance, you can limit Google Maps access to the location only when using the app.

On your iPhone, open Google Maps apps → Settings → Personal Content → Location settings and Tap Location Service is on.

Tap on Google Maps Settings on iPhone

Tap on Location Settings in Google Maps on iPhone

Here tap on Location and switch the Location permission from Always to While Using the App.

Select While Using the App to Disallow Google from Access your Location All the Time

Hope you Have a Secure 2020!

Undoubtedly, the Google Maps timeline is an excellent feature to reminiscence your past travels and trips. However, like everything in technology, there’s a right side and wrong side.

Given my affiliation and contact with tech, my 2020 resolutions include smartly handling such issues for a healthier and safer me. What are your resolutions for this year? Let us know in the comment section below.

Links you may like: 

If you like our content, do give us a shoutout. Join us on our Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram account; you can also download our iOS app for regular updates on all thing Apple.