Automatically getting connected to saved or captive Wi-Fi networks can be annoying, especially when you have more than one saved WiFi Networks in range. Fortunately, Apple provides a neat way to handle this kind of situation by giving built-in functionality to turn off auto-joining on per Wi-Fi basis.
This functionality will keep you logged in onto the network, but your device won’t connect to the saved WiFi Network until you manually do it. With that said, let’s quickly go over the steps to stop iPhone, iPad, and Mac from Auto-connecting to saved Wi-Fi networks.
How to Turn OFF Wi-Fi Auto-Join on iPhone and iPad
Step #1. Go to Settings on your iPhone → Tap on Wi-Fi.
How to Disable Wi-Fi Auto-Join on Mac
Step #1. Access Network Preferences by clicking on the WiFi icon from the Menu bar or you can access them by clicking the Apple Menu icon on the top left corner of your Mac and then System Preferences → Network.
Step #3. Lastly, uncheck the box next to Automatically Join this Network.
As Apple sync the settings to iCloud, if you have turned off auto-joining for a particular network on your iPhone, it will automatically turn off on iPad, Mac, or any other device with the same Apple ID.
When your iOS devices connect to a Wi-fi network automatically, it begins to send notifications on different apps. This can be embarrassing at times, especially when you are attending a social gathering. To stop this situation, you can prevent your iPhone, iPad, and Mac from connecting to Wi-fi automatically.
You may want to take a peek at:
- How to Automatically Turn Off iPhone or iPad Wi-Fi When You Leave Home
- Facing Wi-Fi Issues In iOS 13: Here are Some Quick Fixes
- How to Fix Wi-Fi Issues on Mac Running macOS Catalina or Earlier
How useful did you find this feature on the iPhone, iPad or Mac? Leave your comments in the section below.