iOS 16: How to edit and unsend messages on iPhone

How to edit and unsend messages on iPhone

Apple has finally added a feature that iMessage users have been asking for a long time: the ability to edit and unsend messages. With the iOS 16, you can now make changes to messages or even delete them within 15 minutes of sending them.

But before you get too excited to try this feature, this feature is iOS 16-exclusive, and you have to wait until a stable build is released for your iPhone. If you can’t wait, you can download the iOS 16 Developer Beta if you are adventurous.

Note: This feature only works in iMessage, and you won’t be able to use this in text messages.

How to edit messages in iOS 16 on iPhone

  1. Open a conversation on iMessage where you want to make the edit.
  2. Tap and hold the message to edit.
  3. Now, tap Edit.

    edit message on iPhone

Note: After editing the message, you will see a small edited tag below the message, which will also be visible to the recipient.

How to undo sent iMessages on iPhone

  1. Open iMessage and open the conversation where you want to unsend a message.
  2. Tap and hold the message you want to delete.
  3. Now, tap Undo Send.

    unsent message on iMessage

As soon as you tap it, the particular message will burst with a little animation and will disappear.

Note: If the recipient is using an iPhone running iOS 15 or below, they may still see the deleted message. Even if they are using an iPhone with iOS 16, there might be a chance for them to see the message from notifications before you delete them.

FAQs

Q. How to mark a message on iPhone?

If you are on iOS 16, tap and hold the conversation and select Mark as unread. A blue dot will appear on the left side of the conversation.

Q. How do you remove a heart from a text message? 

Tap and hold the message which you want to remove the heart and tap the heart tapback to remove the heart. If you have added a heart in a text, you can edit or delete it if you are on iOS 16.

Q. Does deleting an iMessage delete it for the other person? 

If you are on iOS 15 or below, you will only see the option to delete messages for yourself. Since iOS 16, you can delete a message for both ends within 15 minutes of sending it. But if the other user is not on iOS 16, they might still see your deleted message.

That’s it!

With the edit and undo message features, you can prevent typos or messages sent mistakenly. But when you delete or edit a message, iMessage will inform the user about it. So, what are your thoughts about it? Let me know in the comments.

More iMessage tips and tricks for you:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]