Sharing your favorite photos or videos with your friends on Instagram on iPhone is a joyful act of staying connected with not just friends but also with the world. However, there are times you may have to block someone due to certain personal reasons.
I myself have gone through this many a time. So, I know pretty well why you might be compelled to cut away from some friends on this social site.
If you have blocked someone on Facebook, then you’d know that when you block someone on Instagram, he/she would no longer be able to view your photos or videos and even search your profile. You can block both your followers and the ones you follow.
#1. The blocked person can’t view your photos or videos. He can’t even see your profile. When you block someone on Instagram, he is not notified about it.
#2. The person you have blocked can still mention your username. You can view his mention in your activity on Instagram. If you don’t like it, you will need to change your username.
#3. When you block someone, his likes and comments from your photos and videos won’t be removed. But, you can remove them from your posts.
#4. The blocked person can still view your likes and comments on the people’s photos or videos they follow or the people whose profile is public.
Anyway, you have decided to block Instagram followers on your iPhone or iPad, here is how to do it instantly. Let’s have a look!
How to Block Someone on Instagram on iPhone
Step #1. Launch Instagram on your iPhone.
Step #2. Tap on the profile icon from the bottom right corner.
Step #3. Tap on Followers or Following. As I have mentioned above that you can block both your followers and the ones you follow. So you can tap on any of the two given options.
Step #4. Next up, you should see your Followers/Following in the list. Tap on the username of someone you want to block.
Step #5. Now, tap on the tiny three dots from the top right corner.
Step #6. You would get three options-Block User, Report Inappropriate and Copy Profile URL. Tap on Block User and then confirm in the popup.
That’s it! You have blocked this user.
How to Unblock Someone on Instagram on iPhone
What if you have changed your mind and now want to unblock someone you have blocked on Instagram on iPhone, how would you do that? It’s just as simple. Let’s have a look!
Step #1. Launch Instagram.
Step #2. Tap on Search icon from the bottom. Type the username you have blocked. Once you see the username, tap on it.
Step #3. Tap on the tiny three dots from the top right corner.
Step #4. Tap on Unblock User from the bottom menu and confirm in the popup.
Step #5. A popup will appear confirming that the user has been unblocked. Tap on Dismiss in the popup.
That’s all, folks!