WhatsApp has slyly seeped into our lives and positioned itself as our favorite communication platform. However, if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, whether for a genuine or illogical reason, the communication line gets disrupted.
When someone is not replying to your messages or calls, they may be busy or simply not interested. There is no point holding one-sided conversations and expecting an answer which might never arrive. This is why knowing if I’m blocked on WhatsApp is quite essential for me. What about you? Read on, if it’s equally critical for you as well.
How to Know If Someone Has Blocked You on WhatsApp
When blocked, you don’t get a direct notification from WhatsApp. Although some indicators might help you access whether you are blocked or just being ignored.
- Check Contact’s Last Seen or Online Status on WhatsApp
- No Profile Picture, Status or Stories to Check on WhatsApp
- Only One Grey Tick Mark After Sending Message on WhatsApp
- Unable to Add Contact in WhatsApp Group
Check Contact’s Last Seen or Online Status on WhatsApp
First and foremost, you won’t have access to ‘Last Seen‘ or ‘Online‘ status. However, if the user has turned off their last seen timestamp, you won’t see it either. So, that’s not a sure-shot way to confirm that you are blocked.
No Profile Picture, Status or Stories to Check on WhatsApp
If someone has blocked you, their WhatsApp profile picture, status, and stories are out of your reach as well. Instead of their profile picture, you see a blank image.
But there is a hiccup in this indicator as well. Maybe you are not in their contacts list, and hence you can’t see such details. Or they have opted to hide the status from you and not blocked you entirely.
Only One Grey Tick Mark After Sending Message on WhatsApp
WhatsApp has a smart way of checking Read Receipts. One tick means a message sent, and two ticks denote successful delivery. As and when the recipient reads your message, the two ticks turn blue.
When blocked, your messages are not delivered, and thus you get only one tick. Additionally, you can swipe right on the sent message to check ‘Message Info.’ There will always be three dots in front of Delivered and Read.
Similar to a WhatApp message, your voice or video calls will also not go through. Please note that it will ring like any other time, but the receiver will not recieve the call or its notification.
Unable to Add Contact in WhatsApp Group
Call all the above steps circumstantial evidence, as they can happen due to other reasons as well. This one is the last straw that confirms your suspicion, whether someone has blocked you on WhatsApp or not.
Try adding the contact in an existing WhatsApp group or make a new one for testing purpose. If blocked, you will not be able to add the contact to your group.
The ‘Can’t add participant‘ or ‘Failed to add‘ message is the final nail in the coffin. Sorry!! You have indeed been blocked on WhatsApp.
That’s all for now!
If you are amongst the unfortunate and blocked by someone, then you have a few choices. But before you irrationally block them too, try to gauge your fault in the situation. My rational side suggests talking to the friend/colleague directly. I hope all goes smoothly at your end.
You may also like to read:
- Best WhatsApp Alternatives to Stay Connected with Your Buddies
- How to Stop WhatsApp from Saving Photos and Videos to iPhone Camera Roll
- Retrieve Deleted Photos, Videos, and Contacts from WhatsApp on iPhone
- Best iPhone Offline Messaging Apps to Send Messages without Internet