How to Remove Siri and Dictation History in iOS 13 and iPadOS on iPhone or iPad

Following a sensational report from The Guardian back in July claiming that Apple contractors used to listen to Siri recordings, the tech giant immediately stopped retaining voice recordings by default – stating it will access audio recordings from only the users who opt in to provide their data. As promised earlier, the Cupertino-based company has now offered an option to delete Siri and Dictation history in iOS 13 and iPadOS 13.

Given how much effort Apple is putting to enhance security and privacy in the latest iteration of iOS, we were expecting the tech giant to come up with a more transparent way of dealing with Siri data sooner than later. And from what it looks like, it seems to be a well-timed move.

Sponsored Links

Speaking of this privacy feature, it lets you clean up Siri interactions associated with the specific iPhone or iPad from Apple servers. Keep in mind, the compiled data that is not associated with the device won’t be eliminated. With that said, let’s find out how to wipe out Siri recordings!

How to Delete Siri and Dictation History in iOS 13 and iPadOS

Step #1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.

Open Settings app on iPhone running iOS 13

Step #2. Now, scroll down and tap on Siri & Search.

Sponsored Links

Tap on Siri and Search in iOS 13 Settings App on iPhone

Step #3. Next, tap on Siri & Dictation History.

Tap on Siri and Dictation History in Settings on iOS 13 Running iPhone

Step #4. Up Next, tap on Delete Siri & Dictation History to eliminate the stored Siri recordings from your iPhone.

Sponsored Links

Confirm Request by Tapping on Delete Siri and Dictation History in iOS 13 Device

That’s pretty much it!

An Essential Security and Privacy Feature?

In the backdrop of the Siri data sampling report, Apple had revealed that “less than 1% of daily Siri activations” are stored for grading. The company also defended that the data is analyzed as part of its effort to improve the performance of the virtual assistant. But considering the huge privacy concern, it’s much better to be crystal clear rather than keep users in the dark.

Sponsored Links

You would love to read these posts as well:

What do you think of this new feature? Share your thoughts in the comments below. To stay in line with All-Things-Apple, be sure to download our iOS app as well as follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Suraj Padmasalihttps://www.igeeksblog.com/
Suraj is a digital marketing expert on the iGB's team. He contributes to the social media section along with tips and tricks for iPhone, Apple Watch. Apart from blogging, he likes to work out as much as he can in his gym and love to listening to retro music.
- Advertisment -