Unlike any Android smartphone, iOS device doesn’t allow you to create contact groups. However, the Phone app on iPhone has the facility to use contact groups. But if you want to create and delete contact groups, you need to seek the help of external elements.

Your iTunes and iCloud accounts come to your rescue. With the help of the two Apple services, you can create and delete contact groups, which give you easy access to some of the numbers you have to dial frequently.

How to Make a Contact Group on an iPhone

Phone numbers of your colleagues or a family member should be easily accessible in your phone book, which might boast a thousand contacts. To create contact groups, you need a computer to open iTunes and iCloud. So, first keep all things in place: your iPhone, a computer, and internet connection.

How to Make Contact Groups on iPhone/iPad

Step #1. First off, connect your iDevice to iTunes and sync the same to store your data (in case, something happens, your data is secured).

Step #2. Now open iCloud on your computer and sign in with your Apple ID; click on Contacts.

Click on Contacts in iCloud

In your iCloud, you can see all your contacts previously synced.

Step #3. Next, click on Plus (+) symbol at the bottom of the Show Actions Menu and the list of contacts.

Click on Plus Sign in Contacts in iCloud

Step #4. Two options will swipe up: New Contact and New Group; click on New Group.

Click on New Group in iCloud

Step #5. Assign a suitable name to the group (If you want to save your friends’ numbers, label it as; Friends or any other name you can think of. You can rename the group by double-clicking on it).
Create iPhone Contacts Group using iCloudRename iPhone Contacts Group from iCloud

Step #6. Go to All Contacts and search contacts you want to add to the group (you can drag and drop some contacts here).

Drag iPhone Contact to Group

Step #7. Once you add contacts to the group, open Phone app on your iPhone.

Step #8. Tap on Contacts → Tap on Groups from the top left the corner.

Tap on Contacts then Groups in iPhone Phone App

Step #9. You will see names of groups you have created on iCloud under the iCloud section.

View Created Group on iPhone

If you want to use phone numbers of a particular group on your iPhone, just tap on Hide All Contacts in Groups. Now, check the group name you want to use. Tap on Done, and you can see only those contact names and numbers you have added to a particular group.

The purpose of creating a group is to easily reach out to the persons you want to communicate. For example, you can send text messages to a select few people in your contacts by adding these people to a group. For this, you can create a group as mentioned above.

Once the group is created:

Step #1. Open Messages app on your iPhone.

Step #2. Tap on message creating an icon on the top right.

Step #3. Now just type in the name of the group to whom you want to send a message.

The group will be displayed with names of group members.

Send Message to Group on iPhone

Step #4. Tap on it, and you can send the message to multiple contacts at the same time.

Another purpose of creating groups is to allow a select few contacts to call you when you are using Do Not Disturb feature on your iPhone.

This is how it works:

Step #1. Launch Settings app on your iPhone → Tap on Do Not Disturb option.

Tap on Settings then Do Not Disturb on iPhone

Step #2. Tap on “Allow Calls From” option.

Tap on Allow Calls from in Do Not Disturb on iPhone

You can see names of groups you have created in iCloud.

Step #3. Tap on any one name of a group you want to receive calls from.

Allow Call for Group on iPhone

Step #4. Go back to Do Not Disturb screen and toggle the option of Manual ON.

Turn On Manual in Do Not Disturb on iPhone

By doing so, you will only receive calls from the group that you have selected from “Allow Calls From” option. Please note that if you leave the option of “Repeated Calls” toggled OFF, nobody will be able to call you in future; it is advisable that you toggle this option ON so that others, apart from the group members, can reach you in the case of emergency.

You can also use “Scheduled” option to keep some contacts blocked for a particular duration of time.

Now, let’s check how to delete the group.

How to Delete Groups on iPhone and iPad

Step #1. Open iCloud on your computer → Sign in with your Apple ID.

Step #2. Click on Contacts.

Click on Contacts in iCloud

Step #3. Click on the name of the group seen below All Contacts → Click on Show Actions Menu option (The cogwheel)

Click on Group and Click on Settings in iCloud Contacts

Step #5. A menu will swipe up; Click on Delete.

Click Delete in Groups in iCloud

A dialog box will appear with two options: Cancel and Delete.

Step #7. Click on Delete.

Delete iPhone Group from iCloud

The group will be deleted from the iCloud Contacts and from your iPhone as well. You can check from the Contacts of the Phone app on your iPhone.

Join us on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus. Also, make sure to download our app on your iPhone and iPad.