Disable/Turn off Photo Stream on iPhone and iPad [How-to]

Photo stream is an extremely useful, handy little feature that goes a long way. If you’ve got more than one iDevice, photo streams can help you transfer photos between devices quickly (without all the hassles of copy/sync/transfer). If you want to share the photos privately with a friend (or family), photo stream lets you do that too.

By default, photo streams are enabled when you setup your iPhone. That means every photo you click will be uploaded to your stream when you are connected to a Wi-Fi network. Want to disable photo stream? Here’s how.

Sponsored Links

How to Disable or Turn off Photo Stream on your iPhone and iPad

How to disable/turn off photo stream on your iPhone/iPad:

Method #1:

Open the Settings app.

Sponsored Links

Step #1. Tap on iCloud.

Step #2. Tap on Photos.

Step #3. Turn off the switch for Photo Stream.

Step #4. Optionally, turn off Photo Sharing.

Sponsored Links

Turn off switch for Photo Stream on iDevice

Turning off Photo Sharing prevents you (or anyone using your iDevice) from being able to “share” your photos through iCloud/Photo Stream option (in the actions/share sheet).

Method #2:

Step #1. Open Settings.

Sponsored Links

Step #2. Scroll down and tap on Photos & Camera.

Step #3. Turn off My Photo Stream.

Step #4. Optionally, turn off Photo Sharing

Turn off My Photo Stream on iPhone and iPad

Sponsored Links

Same as before, turning off Photo Sharing will prevent any photo being shared through Photo stream.

By turning off Photo Stream / My Photo Stream, you are turning off the default behavior of the iDevice camera where all photos you click are automatically sent to a photo stream.

By turning off Photo Sharing, you are preventing yourself/anyone else using your iDevice from being able to share photos via Photo Stream. You can still share photos through email, iMessage, Facebook or other options, but no photo stream.

Disabling photo stream does not remove the photos inside your photo stream. You will have to manually delete the photos or albums in your photo stream. Even then, it might take a few hours before iCloud erases most traces of the photos or albums in the photo stream.

Dhvanesh Adhiyahttps://www.igeeksblog.com
Dhvanesh Adhiya is the founder and editor-in-chief who takes care of audio, visual, and textual contents uploaded on iGeeksBlog.com. He is passionate about wonderful apps that change the way your iPhone interacts in your life.

Latest Articles

How to Permanently Delete Instagram Account from iPhone, Android, or PC

An overdose of social media might cause exasperating effects on your mind; for this reason, users decide to delete their Instagram accounts. Many users...

Best Sleep Tracker Apps for Apple Watch: Monitor The Time When You Snooze Mind

According to fitness experts, sound sleep is part and parcel of your fitness activities. Though there are some sleep tracking apps available for iPhone,...

Massive Giveaway from MacXDVD: MacX MediaTrans Giveaway & Win iPhone XR

It's almost Christmas, and everyone's having discounts going on. But what if I tell that there's a giveaway with three different campaigns? Yes, MacXDVD...

Qualcomm Case Takes a New Turn; Apple Ready to Push Software Update in China

A couple of days back Wall Street Journal reported that Apple was hit with a sales ban on older iPhones in China. Law authorities...