How to Share a Calendar from Your iPhone or iPad

We’ve seen how to share individual calendar events but if you want to collaborate with someone on a calendar, you need to share the entire calendar. With iCloud and the Calendar app, iPhone/iPad makes it easy to share calendars so multiple people can be invited to view (and optionally edit) the calendar events.

Shared calendar events are very useful and quite flexible when you’re working on a calendar that needs to be edited by multiple people. You can have shared calendars between you and your spouse, you and your co-workers, and pretty much everyone else. If you are on a world tour with your friends with different itineraries in your group, a shared calendar might come in very handy.

Here’s how to create a shared calendar and also how to turn an old calendar (created previously) into a shared one. You’ll also learn how to control the limits on the people you share your calendar with.

Enable iCloud Calendar

First off, make sure you have turned on iCloud for Calendars. To do so,

  1. Open Settings Tap on Your Profile.Open Settings then Tap on Your Profile on iPhone or iPad
  2. Tap on iCloud Turn On Switch next to Calendars

Enable Calendars in iCloud on iPhone or iPad

How to Share a Calendar from Your iPhone or iPad

If you want to create a new calendar and share that, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Calendar app → Tap on Calendars → Tap on Add Calendar. If you want to share an existing calendar, jump on to step #3.Tap on Calendars the Add Calendar on iPhone or iPad
  2. Give the calendar a name and tap Done.Add New Calendar on iPhone or iPad
  3. Tap on “i” next to the newly created calendar.Tap on i Next to Calendar on iPhone or iPad
  4. Under Shared with, tap on Add Person and enter the email ID of the person you wish to share the calendar with.Share a Calendar with Others on iPhone or iPad

Change Edit Permission for Shared Calendars on iPhone or iPad

You can edit sharing/editing options by tapping on the person you’ve shared the calendar with. Turning off Allow Editing prevents the person from making changes to the shared calendar.

Edit Permission for Shared Calendars on iPhone or iPad

At any point in time if you wish to stop sharing the calendar, simply tap on Stop Sharing and confirm.

Stop Sharing Calendar on iPhone or iPad

Again, note that this works only when you’ve got iCloud enabled.

That’s all, folks!

You may also like to explore:

Do share your feedback with us in the comment below.

+ posts

The founder of iGeeksBlog, Dhvanesh, is an Apple aficionado, who cannot stand even a slight innuendo about Apple products. He dons the cap of editor-in-chief to make sure that articles match the quality standard before they are published.