back to top
iGBHow-toHow to remove remembered account on Instagram from iPhone

How to remove remembered account on Instagram from iPhone

Normally, when you logout from an app, the app forgets the login data and asks you to use the username and password to access the service. That’s not the case with many apps from Google and Facebook.

Applications such as Facebook, Messenger, and Instagram will remember your account information to easily login using a single tap. The practice is for user convenience, but it leaves you with a scratching head in some cases. Allow me to elaborate.

A couple of days ago, my friend used my iPhone XR to login into his Instagram account. After browsing for 10 minutes, he logged out, but the app continued to remember his account, leaving his account exposed to me or anyone using my phone.

If you are in a similar situation, learn how to remove an Instagram remembered account in this guide. Let’s dive right in!

How to remove a remembered account in Instagram on iPhone

Before we get started, let me show you the default behavior on the iPhone. When you try to logout from your Instagram account, it shows on the Instagram home (shown in the image below). With a single tap, you can open the account.

Remembered-account-on-Instagram

Follow the steps below to remove Instagram remembered accounts.

  1. Open Instagram → Go to your profile → Tap the hamburger menu.
  2. Scroll down and select Log out → Hit Log out if prompted.

    log out of Instgram account
  3. Tap the settings icon on the Instagram login page.
  4. Tap the account you want to remove.

    tap the settings icon, select a account on Instagram login page
  5. Then, tap Remove Profile → Remove.

    tap remove profile and remove on instagram

How to stop Instagram from saving login info on iPhone

Instagram asks if you want to save your login info the first time you log out of your account. However, if you didn’t receive this prompt or have changed your mind and don’t want your account to be vulnerable, stop Instagram from remembering an account.

  1. Navigate to Accounts Centre → Password and security.

    tap accounts center, select password and security in instagram settings
  2. Tap Saved Login → Select your Instagram account.

    tap saved login, select a account in instagram
  3. Toggle off Saved login info → Tap Remove.

    toggle off saved login info, tap remove in instagram

Wrapping up…

Personally, I like the convenience offered by Instagram here. But it would be great to have biometric authentication such as Face ID or Touch ID to further strengthen the account security instead of letting the user access the account with a single tap.

Go through the steps above and remove remembered Instagram accounts from other devices. Have any more questions? Fire them up in the comments section below.

Read more:

  • Parth

    Parth previously worked at EOTO.tech covering tech news. He is currently freelancing at iGeeksBlog, Guiding Tech, iPhonehacks, and TechWiser writing about apps comparisons, tutorials, software tips and tricks, and diving deep into iOS, Android, macOS, and Windows platforms.

    View all posts

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles