Are you irritated with frequent notifications from someone on Snapchat? You may think of blocking or unfriending them. But Snapchat offers a more gentle option to get rid of alerts by muting them. Also, you may turn off their Stories so you can’t see them at the top of your feed. Let’s learn how to mute someone on Snapchat on your iPhone.
How to mute someone on Snapchat
- Open Snapchat on your iPhone → Tap the Chat icon.
- Long press on the friend’s name you wish to mute.
Now, from here, you can opt to mute calls/messages, stories, or locations. The steps for all three are mentioned below.
Option 1: Turn off messages and call notifications on Snapchat
- Tap Chat Settings → Toggle off Message Notifications.
Disabling the message notifications will mute their calls. So, when you open their chat, you will find their messages and missed calls.
If you want to completely avoid watching the Snapchat Stories of any particular friend, you may mute them.
Option 2: Mute someone’s stories on Snapchat
- Choose Story Settings and switch off Story Notifications on your iPhone.
- Then toggle on Mute Story → Tap Mute.
Performing this action will remove the friend’s updates from the stories list. Therefore, unless you unmute them manually, you won’t be able to view their Snapchat stories.
Further, you can also decide to mute Snap Map locations to avoid seeing someone’s location.
Option 3: Mute a friend’s location on Snapchat
- Tap Location Settings.
- Toggle on Mute Location → Hit Okay.
- Confirm by selecting Done.
If you change your mind, you may unmute the friend anytime following the same process.
What happens after you mute someone on Snapchat on your iPhone?
Muting someone will not remove them from your friend list. And don’t worry; Snapchat will not let them know about it.
You may confuse it with the Do Not Disturb feature. But both are different. Let’s find out!
Difference between Muting and Do Not Disturb on Snapchat
The Do Not Disturb feature of Snapchat disables all alerts from a specific friend or group. But their Stories will continue to appear on your feed, unlike Mute. On the other hand, when you mute someone, it will move the Stories of that friend to the bottom of the story list. Also, the Story section above your feed will not show theirs.
But the reverse is not valid. Those friends can see your Stories and send you messages as usual. The only common thread is you will not get any message notifications in both features.
When you mute someone on Snapchat, they don’t get notified. However, if they notice that you are no longer watching their stories, they may estimate it.
Yes, you don’t need to block or unfriend them. Instead, simply mute the notifications and story.
So, that’s all for today, Snapchatters!
The Mute feature is ideal if you are bombarded with notifications or don’t want to watch someone’s stories or messages. You can now enjoy your Snapchat experience without unwanted interruptions by turning off alerts. Happy snapping!
- How to remove someone from Snapchat group on iPhone and iPad
- 3 Quick Ways to Know If Someone Has Blocked You on Snapchat
- How to fix Snapchat notifications not working on iPhone