How to Change Live Photos to Normal Photos on iPhone or iPad

How to Change Live Photos to Normal Photos on iPhone or iPad

Take a selfie or capture photos of your loved ones in Live Photos mode and turn them into a normal mode or you can do the reverse. Interesting, right? With the iPhone, you can play with the Camera app. In separate information, we discussed how you can take Live Selfies on your iPhone. It’s fun to watch live photos of your loved ones, especially of kids, who always like to be clicked.

But for any reason, if you want to go to normal mode, i.e. if you want to convert your live photos into normal photos, Apple provides a simple way to turn live photos to normal photos. Let’s check it out;

How to Turn Live Photos to Normal Photos on iPhone or iPad

Step #1. Open Photos app on your iPhone → Tap on any Live Photo you have taken → Tap on Edit button in the top right corner of the screen.

Tap on Edit in Live Photo on iPhone or iPad

Step #2. Now tap on an icon of the circle in circles pattern from the bottom → Tap on Live text which is marked with Yellow background.

Tap on Live Text in the Photo on iPhone or iPadTap on Live Text in the Photo on iPhone or iPad

Step #3. Tap on Done button from the bottom right corner.

Turn Live Photos to Normal Photos on iPhone or iPad

This will turn your live photo into a normal one. Now, let’s check how you can reverse this process.

Step #1. Tap on the photo you have just turned into normal mode → Tap on Edit Button → Tap on an icon of the circle in circles pattern.

Tap on Edit then Live Button in Photo on iPhone or iPad

Step #2. Tap on Live text located at the top-middle. And tap on Done.

Change Normal Photo to Live Photo on iPhone or iPad

Now your photo will be a live photo. Please note that you can only turn live photos into normal ones and vice versa. If any photo is already clicked in normal mode, you won’t be able to turn that into a live photo.

Don’t forget to share your feedback with us in comments.

2 comments
  1. There’s another great feature of switching a Live foto to a normal version that should not go unmentioned here. Just before you disable a Live foto, scroll through all the images taken to make it a Live image displayed on a scroll bar at the bottom of the screen. There you can preview all the images and, if desired, change the key foto that will be the single image saved when converting to a normal foto. Apple is pretty good at automatic selection of this image, but there are times another image will serve your needs better than their choice.

  2. Thank you for such a clear explanation of how to convert a “live” photo to the one photo you want to keep. I appreciate learning also that you can reverse the process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.