What happens when you block someone on Discord? (2023)

What happens when you block someone on Discord

You will always come across people who aren’t on their best behavior, both in life and especially on Discord. Interestingly, it’s much easier to get rid of these people on Discord. Moreover, if you’ve had some discord with a user on Discord and they’ve blocked you, there is no direct message informing you of the same.

In this article, we will guide you through all the steps of blocking someone in Discord on iPhone, Android phone, and Mac and even list all the ways to help you figure out if you’ve been blocked on Discord.

How to block someone in Discord on iPhone or Android

The process to block users on a mutual server or in a personal chat is the same. Also, these steps apply to the Discord app on both iPhone and Android.  

  1. Launch the Discord app on your iPhone or Android device. 
  2. Head to a mutual server or personal chat of the user you want to block. 
  3. Tap on their name or avatar
  4. A profile window will open. Tap the three dots at the top right corner. 
  5. Now, tap Block.

    Block someone in Discord on iPhone or Android  

How to block someone in Discord on Mac or PC 

  1. Launch the Discord app on your Mac or PC. 
  2. Head to a mutual server or personal chat of the user you want to block. 
  3. Click on their name or avatar
  4. Navigate your cursor to their avatar and click on view profile.

    Click on view profile 
  5. Now, click on the three dots and select the Block option.

    Block someone on Discord on Mac or PC  

The user is now blocked.

How to know if someone has blocked you on Discord

If you have been blocked by a user, you won’t be notified of the same. So, here are some workarounds to find out.

1. The user is no longer in your friend list 

The first and most obvious way to tell if a user has blocked you is to check your Friends list. If the user is still visible, it means they have not blocked you. 

You can navigate the Friends list by selecting the Friends icon (a man waving his hand) at the bottom of the mobile app. Or, if you’re on Mac or PC, click the Discord logo at the top left corner → FriendsAll and check if you can find the user in the list. 

However, this step only applies if the user was added as a friend. If you haven’t added them to your friend list, head to the next step. 

2. You cannot send a friend request 

If you did not add the user to your friend list, the step mentioned earlier would not work for you. However, if they weren’t on your friend list, you can still add them to it. Sadly, this only works if the user has not blocked you yet.  

If the user has blocked you on Discord, you’ve lost the ability to send them a friend request. Instead, every time you try to send a friend request, you will see a “Friend Request Failed” text pop up.

You cannot send a friend request on Discord 

3. Profile information is hidden 

A user’s personal details are hidden whenever they block you on Discord. When you tap on their avatar or name, you will not be able to see anything below the About Me section, Connections, or their current activity. Everything is hidden.

Profile information is hidden on Discord on Mac or PC 

Again, there are chances that the user has removed their bio, unlinked all their connected accounts, or changed the settings to hide all this information. If this is confusing you further, move to the next step. 

4. Text messages on mutual servers are hidden 

As mentioned earlier, if a user blocks you, Discord will hide all your messages on a mutual server from the user. They have the option to view your messages if they want to. They can also choose to reply if they wish to. However, even if a user has blocked you, you will still be able to see all their messages and even be able to respond to them. But there’s a caveat. 

5. Message reactions are disabled

The caveat is that while you can reply or respond to their messages, you can’t react with emojis to their messages. This applies to both personal chat and a mutual server. In both these scenarios, the moment you react to their message with an emoji, it will disappear. Fortunately, you are not blocked if you can react to their message. 

6. You can send direct messages, but they won’t be delivered 

While you can not only view the messages of the user who has blocked you in a mutual server but also respond to them, the same does not apply to personal chat. If you try messaging a user who has blocked you, you will be greeted with a message from Clyde (a Discord bot) that says, “Your message could not be delivered.” It is the final straw, and you can now be assured that you have definitely been blocked on Discord.

You can send direct messages, but they won’t be delivered on Discord 

That’s how you check if you are blocked on Discord!

Yes, those were all the steps to check if a user on Discord has blocked you. There is nothing you can do to contact the user once they’ve been blocked. If you share a mutual server with the user, you can reply to their messages, and if they view it and respond to it, you will be able to convince them to unblock you. 

Please let us know in the comments below if you have any other questions. Also, ensure to check out our full-fledged guide on how to use Discord on iPhone.

Read more:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.