Sponsored Links

Do you get annoyed when you see people you are not friends with in Facebook chat? You are not alone to have found it irritating. I'm also in the same boat as you.

Once you grant the social app access to your address book, your contact information is uploaded to Facebook. As a result, it suggests people, who aren't your friend, from your address book. Those suggested friends are also seen in Facebook Messenger sidebar as other friends.

Sponsored Links

Prevent Facebook from Accessing Contact Data-Address Book on iPhone

No longer want to see friend suggestions? There is a way you can prevent Facebook from having the access to your address book. Moreover, you can even completely stop it from messing around with your contacts. Luckily, iOS lets you get it done with ease. Find out!

How to Stop Facebook from Suggesting Friends on Desktop and iPhone

How to Delete All the Synced Contact Information in Facebook

First off, remove all the already synced contact data from Facebook to ensure it is completely cleaned up.

Step #1. Open any web browser on your iOS device and go to https://www.facebook.com/mobile/messenger/contacts/.

Sponsored Links

Step #2. You should see a long list of people whose contact information has been uploaded.

You need to click on Delete All button under Uploading and Managing Your Contacts.

Tap on Delete All Under Facebook Contacts on iPhone

Step #3. Make sure to read the information before confirming that you want to delete all the uploaded contact information.

“We won't be able to tell you when your friends start using Messenger if you delete all your uploaded contact info.

If you have Continuous Uploading turned on in the Messenger app, your contact info will be uploaded again the next time the app syncs with Facebook servers.”

Click on Delete All again to confirm.

Step #4. Now, log out of your account to clear the cache.

How to Stop Facebook from Accessing Your Address Book on iPhone and iPad

Once you have got rid of all the contact information uploaded on Facebook, you need to ensure it is not able to access your address book on your iPhone.

Step #1. Open Settings app on your iOS device → Scroll down and tap on Facebook.

Tap on Settings then Facebook on iPhone

Step #2. Next, turn off the switch next to Contacts.

Stop Facebook from Accessing Address Book on iPhone

Now, Facebook will no longer access your address book.

How to Prevent Facebook Messenger from Accessing Contact Data on iPhone and iPad

Make sure to stop Facebook Messenger from having the access to your contact data.

Step #1. Launch Settings app on your iPhone → Scroll down and tap on Privacy.

Tap on Settings Then Privacy on iPhone

Step #3. Next, tap on Contacts.

Tap on Contacts Under Privacy Settings on iPhone

Step #4. Finally, toggle the switch next to Messenger.

Stop Facebook Messenger from Accessing Contact Data on iPhone

That's it! Now, Facebook won't be able to access your contact information.

You may want to check out some of our helpful posts like how to stop WhatsApp from sharing contact information with Facebook, tips to prevent Facebook from draining the battery on iPhone and how to play Facebook Messenger Instant Games on iPhone, Mac, and Windows.

Like this article? Share your feedback about it in the comments below.

Sponsored Links

Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus. Also, make sure to give it a try to our iOS app on your iPhone and iPad.

SHARE
Previous articleBest iPhone Cycling Apps for Bikers [Our Fitness Series]
Next articleHow to Use Emergency SOS in iOS 10.2 on iPhone
Jignesh Padhiyar is the founder of iGeeksBlog.com who has a keen eye for news, rumors and all the unusual stuff that happens around iPhone and iPad.