Well, the “always on location services” problem seems to have reappeared. Some of the folks who upgraded to iOS 8 note that the location services icon is always visible in the status bar. This means it’s always on, which is bad because it drains your iPhone’s battery.

If you are confused how to troubleshoot it, we’ve got some good news. The reason location services is always on is due to a reset in the switches. When you upgrade to iOS 8, these services are turned on which results in the problem.

Sponsored Links

Location Services Always On In iOS 8

How To Fix Location Services Always On Issue In iOS 8

Step #1. Tap on Setting

Step #2. Tap on Privacy

Sponsored Links

Step #3. Tap on Location Services

Location Services in iOS 8

Step #4. Tap on System Services

System Services in iOS 8

Sponsored Links

Step #5. Switch off services that you don’t use.

Turn Off Location Services for App in iOS 8

The most probable culprits are Diagnostics & Usage, Location-Based iAds. Equally probable but useful occasionally are Popular Near Me (that is used in the App Store) and Spotlight Suggestions. In the case of the latter, whenever you search for a location right from Spotlight or search something like “restaurants”, if the switch is ON, this will trigger location services.

But this is not all. Here’s some major change in iOS 8:

In iOS 8, apps can run in the background. (Settings → General → Background App Refresh). When an app runs in the background, it can use the location services (if the location services are set for this app). Of course, your iPhone/iPad will notify of this when the app is using your location when it’s in the background (and you can turn it off).

Enable or Disable Location Services in iOS 8

How to Disable Location Services for an App in iOS 8:

Sponsored Links

  • Go to Settings → Privacy → Location Services
  • In the app list, tap on an app that you want to disable location services for
  • Select Never

Notice that instead of a switch, now you have two options: Never and While Using the App. This is Apple’s way of informing you that from iOS 8 onwards, apps will be able to use the location service only when you use them. (and if the app runs in the background, it’s considered as being active).