There are good news and bad news for the people who’ve forgotten the iPhone passcode. The good news is that all is not lost. The bad news is that you can’t recover the passcode in any way.

Unless of course, by a stroke of luck and genius, your brain remembers the passcode again. The only way to regain entry into your iPhone is to restore it. Yes, that’s going to delete all data but, incidentally, even when you are locked out of your iPhone, you can backup your device.

Sponsored Links

Forgot iPhone Passcode

That’s kind of the irony that you don’t want to happen to you, but hey, every once in a while, someone gets locked out of his house, car or email accounts. Add iPhones and iPads to that list.

Forgot iPhone Passcode? Follow this Tips to Get the Issue Resolved

The first thing you should do when you are locked out of your device is back it up.

Back Up Your iOS Device

Sponsored Links

The first thing you should do when you are locked out of your device is back it up. Yes, you heard it right. You will still be able to back up your device via iTunes if you had used your computer to sync your device before.

Step #1. First off, connect your device to the computer using USB cable and launch iTunes.

Step #2. Now, select your device from the top left menu.

Step 3. Next, allow iTunes to sync your device and make a backup.

Sponsored Links

Note: Once your iPhone has been backed up, you should see the date and time when your device was backed up under Latest Backup.

After your device has been successfully backed up, erase the entire data to get rid of the existing passcode.

How to Erase your iPhone and iPad with iTunes to Remove your Passcode

Step #1. Assuming your iPhone is still connected to your computer and you have already backed up your data. Click Restore [your device].

Restore iPhone X, 8 Plus or iPhone 8 from iTunes

Step #2. While restoring, when you reach the Set Up screen on your iOS device, tap on Restore from iTunes backup.

Step #3. Next, select your device in iTunes. Then restore your device with the most relevant backup.

That’s it!

What if you have never synced your iPhone to the computer via iTunes? In this case, you will need to erase your iOS device with Recovery Mode. Keep reading…

How Erase iPhone and iPad with Recovery Mode to Remove your Passcode

Step #1. Connect your iOS device to your computer and launch iTunes.

Step #2. Now, you need to reboot your device.

On iPhone X, iPhone 8, or iPhone 8 Plus: First, press and quickly release the volume up button. Then, press and immediately release the volume down button. Next, press and hold the Side button until the recovery mode screen shows up. Read this for more information.

On an iPhone 7 or iPhone 7 Plus: Simply press and hold volume down button and ON/OFF buttons at once. Keep holding the buttons until the recovery mode screen appears. Jump to this post for more information.

On an iPhone 6s and earlier, iPad, or iPod touch: You need to press and hold both the Home and ON/OFF button at once. Keep holding the buttons until the recovery mode screen appears. Here is more on it.

Step #3. Now, you will get a prompt for Restore or Update. Tap on Restore.

Now, iTunes will start downloading the software for your device.

Note: Just in case, the process takes more than 15 minutes, your iPhone will exit recovery mode, and you will have to repeat the steps mentioned above again. Once the process is completed, set up your device as usual by following the on-screen instructions.

Restore your iPhone without iTunes

TenorShare’s ReiBoot is the most trusted iPhone and iPad management tool, which can let you restore your iOS device even without iTunes. Even better, it lets you easily bypass passcode to backup your entire data. Check out the following video to find out how it works:

You can use ReiBoot to fix more than 50 iOS issues like iPhone won’t turn on, iPhone stuck on boot screen, stuck on splash screen, screen unresponsiveness and more. Besides, it allows you to enter recovery mode on your iOS device with just a click. Follow the video walk-through to discover how it’s done:

That’s it

Wrap up:

Hopefully, you have successfully erased your device and set it up all over again without any issue. Have any feedback? Shoot it in the comments below.

Catch up with these posts as well:

Like this post? Download our app and remain connected with us via Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus to read more such helpful guides.

Sponsored Links