How to Turn On/Off Facebook Nearby Friends Features on iPhone

Facebook announced that the iPhone/Android app will have a new feature. Called “Nearby Friends”, the feature aims to let you know when your Facebook friends are nearby your location. The feature, in itself, is not new to the smartphone ecosystem.

“Nearby Friends” works when you and your friends have the feature enabled. When you tap on Nearby friends, it shows a list of people (your friends on Facebook, obviously) who are close by. The interface tells you how far they are and time elapsed between the latest location tag.

Sponsored Links

How to Turn On/Off Facebook Nearby Friends Features on iPhone

Now, I don’t know if Nearby Friends is switched ON by default in the Facebook app but the debates about location-tracking, privacy and all the assorted things about personal preferences are on. Needless to say, you can turn off the feature if you don’t want others to know where you have been or if you prefer not to receive notifications about friends who are nearby.

Step #1. Open the Facebook app.

Step #2. Tap on More from the menu (bottom).

Step #3. Tap on Nearby Friends.

Sponsored Links

Step #4. Now, tap on the cog icon (settings).

Turning off Nearby Friends Facebook App Feature

Step #5. Turn off the toggle for Nearby Friends.

How to On-Off Facebook Nearby Friends Feature

Sponsored Links

This turns off the feature, effectively preventing anyone (including Facebook) from tracking your location.

Nearby Friends, when turned on, will also allow Facebook to keep a record of the locations you’ve been to in the past with a feature called Location History.

Creepy as it sounds to some of us, Apple has this feature in the Frequent Locations toggle hidden inside Privacy preferences. If you want to keep Nearby Friends ON but have the location tracking/recording turned off:

Step #1. Open the Facebook app.

Sponsored Links

Step #2. Tap on More, then on Nearby Friends.

Step #3. Tap on the settings icon (cog).

Step #4. Tap on Location Settings.

Step #5. Turn OFF Location History.

Sponsored Links

Nearby Friends has an interesting time-sensitive location-share option where you can share your location for a particular time-frame, with a particular friend.

This is very useful for a use case where you and your friend decide to meet up somewhere at some appointed time. At the time of a meeting, you don’t have to call each other to find out where the other person is: Nearby Friends will tell you exactly where your friend is.

Wish to catch up with more such articles? Make sure to download our app and stay tuned with us via FacebookTwitter, and Google Plus to never miss our latest stories.

Jignesh Padhiyarhttps://www.igeeksblog.com
Jignesh Padhiyar is the co-founder of iGeeksBlog.com who has a keen eye for news, rumors and all the unusual stuff that happens around Apple products. During his tight schedule, Jignesh finds some moments of respite to share side-splitting contents on social media.
- Advertisment -

Latest Articles

Germany Court Rules Apple Must Grant iCloud Data Access to Heirs of Deceased

In its unprecedented ruling, Munster district court in Germany ruled that Apple must grant the heirs to access the iCloud data of the deceased.By...

20 iPad and iPhone Apps Price Drop – 24 April 2019

What happens when you come to know that one of your favorite iPhone/iPad apps price has just dropped-and available at a huge discount? A...

23 Paid iPad and iPhone Apps Gone Free Today – 24 April 2019

iOS Games Gone Free TodayiOS Apps Gone Free TodayWhile there are tons of awesome apps available for free, a number of extraordinary ones come...

How to Find UDID of iPhone or iPad without Mac or PC

UDID is the unique device identification that is unique for every device, as the name says itself. This is generally required if you are...