We’ve talked about how you can use iOS 8’s Family Sharing to share locations with all family members. This comes in handy in a lot of situations. You can keep track of where your kid is, you can share locations with your spouse to meet up somewhere and do much more with this feature.

But there can be cases when you don’t want to share your location with family/friends. You can turn off the location-sharing feature: depending on how you do it, you will prevent family members from locating your device or you can prevent specific members from accessing your location. Here’s more on that:

How to Stop Sharing Your Location With Family Members in iOS 8

#1. Stop Location Sharing via Find My Friends/Find My iPhone

By default, when you are part of a family (in the iOS ecosystem), you will be able to see locations of others and vice-versa. The locations can be accessed via Find My Friends app or via iCloud.com’s Find My iPhone.

Turning this off is pretty easy:

  • Open Settings
  • Tap on iCloud
  • Next, tap on Share My Location from under the Advanced label

Turn Off Share My Location on iOS 8

  • Now, turn off the Share My Location switch

Disable Share My Location on iOS 8

That will effectively turn off this feature. No one will be able to locate you/your device through iCloud.com’s Find My iPhone or Find My Friends app.

#2. Stop Sharing Your Location with Specific Family Members Only

Turning off the location sharing feature completely is not exactly a good decision though. The reason is, if your device is lost or misplaced, with location-sharing ON, some family member can locate your iPhone/iPad and protect your data.

The other option is to share location with specific members and hide it from others. That can be done easily too.

  • Open Settings
  • Tap on iCloud
  • Tap on Share My Location under the Advanced label

Turn Off Share My Location on iOS 8

  • You have a list of people who are part of the family.
  • Tap on the person you want to stop sharing your location with.

Stop Sharing Location with Specific Family Members Only

  • Next, tap on Stop Sharing My Location

Stop Sharing My Location in iOS 8

This will ensure that your location is not shared with this particular family member.

#3. Share My Location via Privacy

You can reach the same setting toggles via Privacy too. Here’s how:

  • Open Settings
  • Tap on Privacy
  • Next, tap on Share My Location

Share My Location via Privacy in iOS 8

And you get to the same settings page as you did in the previous cases.