Earlier we made a post on how to share a photo album even with those who don’t have the iCloud account. This article is pretty much on that line in nature. However, it talks about the process of sharing specific photos (and not the entire album) with anyone using an expiring iCloud link in iOS 12.

The one major roadblock that we mostly encounter especially when sharing a number of photos at one go is – lagging. The problem gets really compounded when Internet speed finds itself burdened by the volume of the file size.  And of course, you also have to deal with the usual limitation on the number of files you can send at once. Read on…

Sponsored Links

How to Share Photos or Videos Using Expiring Link on iPhone and iPad

How to Share Photos or Videos With Temporary iCloud Link from iPhone Running iOS 12

iOS 12 has made it a bit easier to send specific images. It’s more straightforward and faster than the traditional method. More significantly, it lets you share the shots even with those who aren’t using Apple devices.

The link is valid for 30 days after that it is automatically expired. But you can end its life even before the deadline.

To get going, ensure that you have enabled iCloud Photos on your iOS device. Simply head over to Settings → Apple ID banner → iCloud → Photos → and then turn on the switch next to iCloud Photos.

Sponsored Links

Enable iCloud Photos on iPhone Running iOS 12

Step #1. Launch Photos app on your iOS device.

Launch Photos app on iPhone

Step #2. Now, Select the photos you wish to send and then tap on the Share button.

Sponsored Links

Select Photos then tap on Share button in iOS 12 Photos app

Step #3. Up next, select Copy Link in the share sheet.

Select Copy Link in share sheet in iOS 12

Step #4. Now, wait for sometime until the link has been created. The time it will take depends on the file size.

iCloud Link has been create in iOS 12

Step #5. Once the link has been successfully copied to the clipboard, you can share it with your preferred medium just like any other link. For instance, you can open Messages app and paste the link in the text field. Then, send it as usual.

Share Photos Via Temporary iCloud Link in iOS 12

Receiving the Shared Photos

On Android device, or iOS devices that are not running iOS 12 and computer

Upon tapping/clicking the link, your friends will be directed to icloud.com where all of your sent images will appear. There will also be an option to Download the images.

Share Photos or Videos with Expiring Link on Android Device

Besides, they can choose to select or deselect the images before hitting the download button.

On iOS devices Running iOS 12 Devices

When your friend tap on the link, he/she will get a popup reading, “Open”? “Your Name” shared this. You will join as “Your friend’s name.” He needs to tap on Open. Now, the images will open in the “For You” section of the Photos app. There will be an option called “Add All” to add the images to the library.

Receive Shared Photos on iPhone or iPad

To add a single photo to the library, tap on the one you like and then hit the “Add to the Library” button.

How to Copy the Link of the Shared Photos

Later, if you want to share the same photos with other friends, you don’t need to go through the entire process all over again at least till thirty days from the date of creating link.

Step #1. Simply, open Photos app on your iOS device → For You tab → Recently Shared section.

Go to Recently Shared section in iOS 12 Photos app

Step #2. Now, tap on the group of photos.

Tap on group of photos in iOS 12 Photos app

Step #3. Next, tap on the menu button at the top right and select Copy Link.

Copy the Link of Shared Photos in iOS 12 Photos App

Now, you can share the link via your favorite medium.

iOS 12 lets you stop sharing the photos even before the link has been expired.

How to Stop Your Friend from Viewing the Shared Photos

Step #1. Open Photos appFor You tab → Recently Shared section → select the group of photos.

Go to Recently Shared section in iOS 12 Photos app

Step #2. Tap on the menu button at the top right and select Stop Sharing.

Stop Viewing Shared Photos in iOS 12 Photos App

That’s done!

Your take:

What’s your take on this well-thought-out feature? Feel free to put your thoughts in the comments below.

You would like to catch up with these posts as well:

Sponsored Links

Like this article? Download our app and remain connected with us via FacebookTwitter, and Google Plus to never miss our latest stories.