How to Restore Mac using Time Machine Backup in Recovery Mode

You can restore your Mac from the backup you created in Time Machine Backup by entering the Recovery Mode. The guide is pretty simple, so go and have a look.

In case you use Time Machine Backup to keep things safe on an external drive, then there’s an easy way to restore this backup. The same can be done through the Recovery Mode on your Mac. By using the restore option, you’ll lose all the changes you have made to the current OS X. Each and everything will be erased, and then the backup will be restored.

So if you are moving ahead with restoring your backup, make sure you again backup your personal files on other partition, or on any other external device. There will be no possible way to recover the data, once the restore is initiated. Assuming that you have backed up and ready to restore your Time Machine Backup, you can now head south to learn the process.

Sponsored Links

How to Restore Mac using Time Machine Backup

How to Restore Mac Using Time Machine Backup in Recovery Mode

Step #1. Enter the Recovery Mode on your Mac.

Step #2. In the Recovery Mode, click on “Restore from Time Machine Backup.”

Step #3. Now select the external disk or the other partition that contains the backup and click “Continue.”

Sponsored Links

If the Time Machine backup is created using Time Capsule, then select the Wi-Fi network and then select your Time Capsule. In case the backup is located in network attached storage, then select the network backup disk and click “Connect to Remote Disk.”

Step #4. Wait for a while till your Mac scans the disk, then select the Time Machine Backup and follow on-screen instructions.

[vc_cta h2=”” style=”3d” css=”.vc_custom_1470215305299{background-color: #f0f0f0 !important;}”]How to Restore & Recover Hard Drive Data on MacBook Pro, Air, and iMacHow to Restore & Recover Hard Drive Data on MacBook Pro, Air, and iMac[/vc_cta]

I might sound repetitive, but make sure you have backed up your current OS X data, as everything will be wiped off and then the backup will be restored. There won’t be any window to get the lost data back.

Sponsored Links

Did this guide help you to restore your backup? Let us know in the comment or on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus. Also, download our app on your iDevice.

More Mac How-tos

How to Wipe Your Mac and Reset it to Factory Settings

There could be all sorts of reasons why you may want to factory reset your Macbook Pro. Maybe your macOS device has run into...
How to Enable or Disable Turbo Boost on MacBook

How to Disable Turbo Boost on your Mac to Improve Battery Life

In case you aren't aware, the Apple MacBooks are loaded with Intel Processors. These processors have a technology called Turbo Boost, which speeds up...
Internet not Working Due to Self-Assigned IP Address on Mac

How to Fix Self-Assigned IP Address Issue on Mac

At times, Mac assigns itself an IP address, which prevents the Internet from working. Even if the computer is connected to Wi-Fi network, you...
Jignesh Padhiyarhttps://www.igeeksblog.com
Jignesh Padhiyar is the co-founder of iGeeksBlog.com who has a keen eye for news, rumors and all the unusual stuff that happens around Apple products. During his tight schedule, Jignesh finds some moments of respite to share side-splitting contents on social media.
- Advertisment -