How to Remove Location Data from Photos and Videos on iPhone or iPad

Metadata about where your photos were taken is no doubt useful for your personal memories. But with iOS 13, it’s possible to remove location data from your pics and videos on iPhone when sharing them online. This bolsters your privacy because it prevents anyone from misusing this information. So if you want to shield against such prying eyes, keep reading.

How to Share Photos and Videos Without Geotags in iOS 13 and iPadOS 13

Step #1. Open Photos app on your device and head over to the images you would like to share.

Step #2.
If you want to share a single photo, just tap on it and then choose Share button.

Tap on Share button in iOS 13 Photos App

But if you wish to share multiple images, first tap on the Select button at the top right and then choose Share button.

Step #3. Now, tap on “Options” (at the top) on the right side of the location.

Tap on Options to Photo in Photos App Share Sheet

Step #4. Next, you need to disable the toggle for Location. Don’t forget to tap on Done to confirm.

Turn Off Location to to Share Photos and Videos Without Geotags in iOS 13 and iPadOS 13

Sticky Note: Under the location option, there is another toggle called All Photos Data which allows you to share original quality photos using AirDrop. If you are deep into the Apple ecosystem and often use AirDrop to share files between iOS and macOS devices, you should keep it enabled. But keep in mind, it will work only when the Location toggle is also ON.

Step #5. Up next, you will return to the Share sheet. Select your favorite social media or any other medium to share the pics as usual.

That’s pretty much it! You have successfully shared your pics without location metadata.

Signing Off…

As an iOS user who loves sharing a ton of clips and pics on social sites, I welcome this highly appreciable feature. In this digital world where security and privacy have become a matter of grave concern, it pays to safeguard your information so that it doesn’t fall prey to the evil minds.

You may also like to read:

What’s your take on this security feature and why it’s so helpful? Share your feedback with us in the below comment section.

Suraj is a digital marketing expert on the iGB's team. He contributes to the social media section along with tips and tricks for iPhone, Apple Watch. Apart from blogging, he likes to work out as much as he can in his gym and love to listening to retro music.