Sponsored Links

Ohh no…I have mistakenly sent the message to this person. I wish I could immediately remove it from his/her device! Many of us have been in such situation and badly wanted to get rid of the erroneous message, haven't we? To ensure you have more freedom over messaging, WhatsApp has introduced the life-saving feature, “Delete for Everyone.” So, you can finally delete wrongly sent WhatsApp message on your iPhone, Android and Windows phone even if it's delivered.

WhatsApp “Delete for everyone” feature allows you to eliminate unintentionally sent texts, images, voice messages, GIFs, locations, contacts, quotes, status replies, etc. It works only if both the parties involved are using the latest version of the app. You can get rid of sent message both in the group and individual chats. One very important thing you need to know that you will be able to delete messages for everyone within seven minutes after sending. Once the said period is expired, you can't remove the message.

Sponsored Links

How to Delete Sent WhatsApp Message on iPhone and Android Phone

How to Delete Sent WhatsApp Message on iPhone and Android Phone After Delivered

Note: Make sure you have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on your device before following the steps. Simply open App Store → Updates → WhatsApp and then update the app.

Step #1. Open WhatsApp on your iPhone or Andorid Phone.

Step #2. Now, you need to open the chat in question.

Sponsored Links

Step #3. Next, tap and hold the message which you sent wrongly.

Tap on Sent Message You Want to Delete from Android Phone

Delete Sent WhatsApp Messages

Note: If you wish to delete multiple sent messages, select the ones you want to get rid of. Just remember that you can remove them for everyone only within seven minutes after sending.

Step #4. On iPhone, you need to tap on Delete in the pop-up window, whereas on your Android device; you will have to tap on trash button at the top of the screen.

Tap on Delete to Delete Sent WhatsApp Message

Tap on Trash Icon in Android Phone to Delete Sent Message in WhatsApp

Step #5. Now, you have three options:

  • Delete for Me: It will delete the message only on your device
  • Delete for Everyone: It completely eliminates the sent message both on your device and your receiver's—both in individual as well as group chat.
  • Cancel: Allows you to leave the process.

You need to tap on Delete for Everyone.

Delete Sent WhatsApp Message on iPhone

Delete Sent Message in WhatsApp on Android

That's it! You have successfully deleted the mistakenly sent message.

Now, the messages you deleted for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients' chats. Likewise, if you see “This message was deleted” in a conversation that means the sender has removed their message for everyone.

You can use these same steps to delete more such wrongly sent messages.

Your take

I find “Delete for Everyone” very useful as it allows you to correct your mistake. Let me know what you think of it. Share your feedback in comments.

As we are talking about WhatsApp, you may want to catch up with these posts as well:

Sponsored Links

Like this post? Download our app and stay tuned with us on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus to read more such articles.

SHARE
Previous articleBest Bike Mounts for iPhone X, iPhone 8, and iPhone 8 Plus
Next articleHow to Disable “Require Attention” for Face ID on iPhone X

Jignesh Padhiyar is the founder of iGeeksBlog.com who has a keen eye for news, rumors and all the unusual stuff that happens around iPhone and iPad.