How to Completely Delete your Apple ID from iPhone or iPad

Always remove your Apple ID from your iPhone or iPad before selling or giving it away. We have made a simple tutorial if you don’t know how to do it, check it out.

If you got an iPhone or iPad from another user or if you are giving away your iDevice to someone else, it makes sense to delete your Apple ID associated with the iPhone/iPad completely. Erasing all content and resetting the iPhone is one way but there are other methods that let you remove all traces of your Apple ID from your iPhone.

The following tutorial is a beginner tip. If you are a new user or looking for a checklist of things to do before selling/giving away your iPhone/iPad, this will be useful.

Sponsored Links

How to Completely Remove your Apple ID from the iPhone and iPad

The Easy Method: the easiest way is to remove everything from your iDevice. To do this, all you have to do is go to Settings → General → Reset → Erase All Content & Settings.

Tap on Settings General then Reset on iPhone or iPadErase All Contents and Settings on iPhone or iPad

The other method for Deleting Apple ID from the iPhone/iPad

#1. Disable Find My iPhone: The first thing you have to do is to disable the Find My iPhone option from your device. This is the one that triggers the Activation Lock so you have to get this out of the way. If you have enabled Find My iPhone, here’s how you can remove it: Settings → Your Name → iCloud → Find My iPhone → turn off the switch for Find My iPhone.

Sponsored Links

Tap on Settings then Profile then iCloud on iPhone or iPadTurn Off Find My iPhone

#2. Remove Your Device from iCloud: Now, follow this tutorial to remove the device from your iCloud Find My iPhone account too. If you are selling/giving away the iPhone/iPad, it is going to be set up as new on another Apple ID. It makes sense to remove the device from your account.

#3. Sign Out Everywhere: Go to Settings → iTunes & App Store and tap on the Apple ID field. Then, tap on Sign Out.

Sign Out from iTunes and App Store on iPhone or iPad

Sponsored Links

Next up, go to Settings → Your Name → Sign Out. These are the two usual places where you have signed in with your Apple ID.

Sign Out Apple ID On iPhone or iPad

#4. Reset: Finally, don’t forget to reset. Erase all content and settings from Settings → General → Reset and then for good measure, Reset All Settings too.

You might also want to remove the device from iTunes backup in case you no longer need it (the backup file occupies a large chunk of the hard disk space). You can do this by heading over to “Edit → Preferences → Devices” in iTunes (on the computer).

Sponsored Links

Signing off…

This guide was for users who are selling or giving away their iDevice. But if you are buying a used iPhone or iPad from someone, you need to make sure they have followed these steps. Because if they don’t, they may lock the device after receiving payment from you. And you’ll be left with a dead iDevice and lose money as well. So make sure you double check everything before buying a used iPhone or iPad.

You may also like to explore:

What precautions do you take before buying or selling a used iPhone or iPad? Share it in the comments and help fellow Apple users. Meanwhile, stay connected on Facebook, Twitter, and Telegram.

Sponsored Links
Jignesh Padhiyarhttps://www.igeeksblog.com
Jignesh Padhiyar is the co-founder of iGeeksBlog.com who has a keen eye for news, rumors and all the unusual stuff that happens around Apple products. During his tight schedule, Jignesh finds some moments of respite to share side-splitting contents on social media.
- Advertisment -