Deleting/removing your iCloud account from your iPhone or iPad has changed a tiny bit in iOS 8. While all processes remain the same, Apple changed the button labels. Instead of Delete, you now have Sign out.

For those of you who are new to the iOS ecosystem and would like to know how to delete the iCloud account from your iPhone/iPad, this post should be helpful. Dive in.

Sponsored Links

How to Delete An iCloud Account from the iPhone and iPad in iOS 8

How to Delete iCloud account on your iPhone/iPad Running iOS 8:

  • Open Settings
  • Tap on iCloud

Access iCloud on iPhone in iOS 8

  • Scroll way down and tap on Sign out

Sign out from iCloud in iOS 8

Sponsored Links
  • Tap on Sign out in the alert message

iCloud Signout Alert Messsage

  • Now, you’ll see the Delete Account alert.

Remove iCloud Account from iPhone and iPad in iOS 8

  • If you want to keep all Safari reading list/bookmarks/saved pages data on your iDevice (or if you want to keep all the contacts on the iPhone/iPad), make sure you tap on Keep on my iPhone/iPad.
  • If you don’t want to keep all that data, you can tap on Delete from My iPhone/iPad.
  • Enter your iCloud password so that it can turn off Find My iDevice.

Enter iCloud Password to Turn Off Find My iPhone

In some moments, you’ll see this screen:

Sponsored Links

Enter iCloud Password to Turn Off Find My iPhone in iOS 8

After this, your iCloud account will be removed from your iPhone/iPad. The iCloud settings page will only show a login form.

What happens when you remove your iCloud account?

Basically, all iCloud related services are shut down. This means you won’t be able to use iCloud Photo library/streams, iCloud Drive or documents if you’ve enabled it. This also means contacts, mail, calendars will no longer sync to your iCloud account. Any change you make will not sync to iCloud or other devices.

However, most data that is already on your iPhone/iPad will remain on it even after you delete your iCloud account. Unless explicitly specified (like in step #5, where you get the Delete Account alert), your data will stay on. You can delete the contacts, Safari data. All photo stream/photo library data will also be gone unless the photos are part of a local album on your iDevice.

Sponsored Links

However, note that all data that is already synced to iCloud will still be available whenever you add an iCloud account to your iDevice.