How to Automatically Delete Your Google Location History and Activity Data

As a user, I welcome the introduction of the option to automatically remove Google location history and app data as it makes activity management a bit more straightforward. Read on to find out more about this new add-on!

In the backdrop of an ever-increasing demand for more privacy and security, Google has simplified the web and app activity management. Even though the tech giant already provided Activity Controls, it has made sure users have more flexibility. That seems to be well timed and a step in the right direction.

From now onwards, you can choose to automatically delete your entire location history and web data from Google. If you find it a bit tedious to clean up the history manually, this is clearly the way to go. Follow along to learn how to this feature works!.

Sponsored Links

How to Auto-Delete Your Google Location History and Activity Data from iOS, Android, and Web

Step #1. Open Google Chrome on your device → Then, tap on the menu button.

Tap on Menu in Google Chrome app

Note: On your computer, simply click on this link given below to directly jump to Google’s Web & App Activity page and then follow from step 4.

Step #2. Now, tap on Settings and hit your Google Account.

Sponsored Links

Tap on Settings and Accounts in Google Chrome app

Step #3. Next, tap on Google Activity Controls.

Tap on Google Activity Controls on your Google Account settings

Step #4. Next up, tap on Manage activity → Now, you would be taken to Google’s Web & Activity page. Tap on Choose to delete automatically.

Sponsored Links

Tap on Manage Activity and Tap on Choose to delete automatically in Google settings

Step #5. Up next, you have three options:

  • Keep until I delete manually
  • Keep for 18 months
  • Keep for 3 months

Auto-Delete Your Google Location History and Activity Data

You can choose 18 or 3 months depending on your need. I’m going to select the third option as I want my data to be automatically wiped out a bit early. After that, tap on Next.

Sponsored Links

Step #6. Finally, hit Confirm to finish.

Tap on Confirm in Google Account settings

That’s pretty much it! Going forward, activity older than three months will be removed. At any time, you want to change this behavior, follow the same steps mentioned above and then choose the preferred option in the end.

Wrapping Up…

Sponsored Links

From a user’s perspective, I find this new add-on a good addition. And I’m going to use it consistently to offer up a bit more safeguard to my data.

You’d want to take a quick look at these guides as well:

What do you think of this security and privacy feature? Feel free to share your valuable feedback in the comments. To never miss our latest guides, download our iOS app and stay in touch with us via Facebook, Twitter, and Telegram.

Jignesh Padhiyarhttps://www.igeeksblog.com
Jignesh Padhiyar is the co-founder of iGeeksBlog.com who has a keen eye for news, rumors and all the unusual stuff that happens around Apple products. During his tight schedule, Jignesh finds some moments of respite to share side-splitting contents on social media.
- Advertisment -