How to Turn off Automatic Photo Upload Feature in Dropbox on iPhone

Dropbox updated its iOS app recently. There are quite a few important changes but the most visible are:

  • An interface overhaul that’s subtle and nea
  • A new camera upload feature

The interface is quite cool and simple, in keeping with the simplicity of the web interface. Most of the stuff is familiar here down to the colors that the devs have chosen. When you configure the app for the first time, you’ll be asked to choose if you want to enable the new Camera Upload feature.

Advertisements

The changes are good but there is a problem. When you open Dropbox app and link your account, it will automatically start uploading the photos from your camera roll to a new folder called Camera Uploads in your Dropbox account. Now, if you’ve got a lot of photos – all HD – that’s going to be a lot of space, which is not good if you have a small amount of space in your Dropbox folder.

For me, it’s not good at all. I keep some important files in my Dropbox and I don’t want to use up precious space with all those photos on my iPhone. So the first thing I was looking for was to turn off this automatic camera upload thing. The good guys at Dropbox make it pretty easy to turn it off.

Here’s how to disable automatic photos upload in Dropbox on iPhone / iPad:

Step 1: Open Dropbox

Advertisements

Step 2: Tap the Settings gear icon (bottom right)Disable Automatic Photo Upload in Dropbox on iPhoneStep 3: Now, tap on the “Camera Upload” option

Step 4: Turn the switch to OFF

Turn Off Automatic Photo Upload in Dropbox on iPhone

That’s it. Dropbox will now stop automatic syncing of photos from your camera album.

Below is a quick video tutorial showing how to disable auto upload feature:

More recently, the other company that did this thing was Facebook which enabled automatic photo uploads to your account right from your album. I don’t know about you but I’d prefer if there was more control over that feature. In fact, it sounds logical and better to be able to share photos manually rather than have them uploaded directly.

Dropbox, while it stays private (the Camera Uploads folder is private by default), has one other pitfall. If you’re using a limited-bandwidth connection (and take a ton of photos), the photo upload in Dropbox will hurt your bandwidth as well as the storage space available in your Dropbox account.

So turn the feature off if you are really not sure about how useful it will be to you.

Advertisements