The only problem with a syncing cloud account – whether it’s from iCloud or Dropbox or any other service – is that when you change, remove or edit accounts, there is this remote possibility of losing data in the process. If not losing, it might be about merging the data and then never getting back to a previous original state.
A lot many users have this problem with iCloud accounts when they have a couple of them across few of their iOS devices (and Macs). In this post, we’re not trying to answer just the question of changing your iCloud account but also what syncs, what merges and what happens when you retain some of the data so you can be cautious about what happens after the new iCloud account is added.
There is slight difference in process in iOS 7 and iOS 8. If, your device is running iOS 8 then here is how to delete An iCloud account from iPhone/iPad.
As simlpe as it sounds, occasionally, this whole process causes havoc. And it’s not about data loss actually: data is never lost from the cloud when you change iCloud accounts on your iPhone or iPad. All data is safely tucked inside iCloud.
Here’s how to delete or change iCloud account on iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch:
- Go to Settings
- Tap on iCloud
- Scroll to the bottom and tap on “Delete Account”
- You will be shown a screen like this:
- If you wish to keep those data on your iPhone, tap on “Keep on My iPhone”
- If not, tap on “Delete from My iPhone”. Note that this will only delete data from your iPhone and *not* the iCloud account.
- Now, head back to Settings → iCloud and add a new iCloud account. You will be asked if you want to merge iCloud data for services that you have enabled (like Contacts, Calendars, Reminders etc.).
- When you merge, remember that the old data that rests on your iPhone will now get synced to the new iCloud account that you added.
With that, you change the iCloud account on your iDevice. This will effectively stop notifications, photo syncs etc. which you have configured across other devices using the old iCloud account. So make sure you remember what goes where and what happens after you change the iCloud to avoid further confusion.